Inspiration

I received an email this morning, telling me that I have inspired someone to start drawing again, and asking would I comment on her drawings on Flickr.

I love the fact that I have inspired someone, but I am no authority on drawing. I just do it.

A few years ago I thought that my “talent” was limited to landscapes and that I couldn’t draw anything else. Then I saw a photo of a Great Blue Heron, taken by Jim Dubois, (Garnite). I thought, hey, maybe I can draw that … so I asked Jim’s permission to use his photo … and it turned out pretty good. With Jim’s encouragement, and permission from my three Flickr birdmen (Greg7, Hearman (Don) and Garnite) I started painting birds. After awhile I thought if I can draw a bird, maybe I can draw a horse … then maybe I can draw a person.

 

And you know, I found out that I CAN. I was limiting myself by the way I was thinking.

Two years ago, my son Gary gave me a beautiful leather-bound sketch book for Christmas. Since then, I’ve filled seven sketch books! If you do something every day, it gets easier, and better.

Are you limiting yourself? Change the way you are thinking and try something new. It’s never too late!

*

24 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Thank you Carol Ann. I do appreciate you coming to visit, and especially that you comment. It’s very encouraging for this new blogger!

  2. Norma,
    What a beautiful,inspiring blog you have my friend.You are so right when you say we limit what we think we can do by negative thoughts. All it takes is a new way of thinking.I can do it!
    Norma,this is an absolute wonderful drawing of this horse.Very life like.What do you use for your drawing tools & colouring? Thanks for being the inspiration you are.Keep shining!

  3. So true, Norma. Each one of us stumbled as we learned to walk and over the years, through practice, some of us learned to climb mountains, run marathons or perform ballet. Dream, find passion….then “just do it.” 🙂

  4. Dianne, thanks for coming to visit and for commenting. I really appreciate it. Tools? I use a 2B pencil, an eraser, and watercolour paint. That’s it. Oh yes, brushes, of course!

  5. Heather: Thanks Heather. So good that you came by for a cup of tea and cookies, especially when you brought the cookies!
    Some people follow their passion, and become a scuba diver so they can photograph underwater… like you! Awesome!

  6. Blogging now! .. this is a great way to share your thoughts and memories Norma. A great subject too – I still discover things that I can do well.

  7. Hearty congratulations, Blogger !!! Have read your posts starting with Dec. 2nd and am very impressed with your energy, talent and attitudes. Carry On. Will be following the Blog along.

  8. PHil Vogler: Thanks for visiting, and commenting, Philip. I hope you enjoyed it enough to come back often.

    Norman E, Davis, Thanks for your kind words… they are much appreciated. I will look forward to having you visit often… I guess that will depend if I write something of interest. Don’t forget I’m new at this…. maybe I’ll get better as I go along.

  9. Beautiful blog Norma! And like everyone’s saying, thanks for the inspiration to believe I can do something! Your painting of the horse is really beautiful! And thanks so much for the beautiful Christmas card with another one of your beautiful paintings involving horses! I’ll be back! Hugs!

  10. Thanks Greg! I’m so glad you like it. You know that you are one of my bird men, the ones who allow me to paint from their photos with out having to ask permission each time. You are one of the people that inspires me! Glad the card arrived.

  11. Thanks for inviting me, Norma. It’s wonderful to see you start a blog, and I love seeing that you have expanded your universe even more that you already had! A lot of the time, you are so right, we ARE restricting ourselves.
    Love this horse!

  12. Claudecf: Thanks for accepting my invitation! Great to hear from you, and I appreciate your kind comment. I hope you will come back often for a visit.

  13. Oh my dear, there is such talent here! Take it from one who cannot draw a good circle or a straight line…. my 2-yr-old grand-daughter does it better! Your horse is divine…and I’d love to see some of your birds!!! Kudos and salivations.

  14. Christine.. thanks for coming by for a visit and for your kind words. Do come back now and then to see if there is anything new that might be worth reading. I might get better at this blogging after a while.

  15. Hello Norma,
    I’m a friend of Phil Vogler and he has introduced me to some of your art work and you have a new fan! I also like the way you think it never too late to try something new, I love new experiences and meeting new people and hearing their stories!:)

  16. Welcome Faye! I guess you know that Phil is my cousin, way back there in Nova Scotia! So great to have a new friend, and I hope you will come back often and share a cup of tea.

    • Thank you for the welcome Norma and I love tea!
      Yes, Phil told me you were cousins and you can see by the looks that you are related.Same eyes.How is your Christmas shaping up? Do you have any snow? We had one big storm and then mild temperatures, no snow left. I love to snowshoe and skate outside maybe next month. I also learned to curl resently and enjoy the team spirit of the game.Thanks for the tea, have an awesome day!:)

  17. I’m coming to this for the first time today, Norma, and am delighted that you’ve started this fascinating blog, complete with photos and your wonderful drawings that have served as inspiration to so many of us on Flickr. Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

