Roots

The second day of a brand new year! 2012! Wow!

Do you know who you are? Have you traced your family roots?  Do you know where you come from?

One time I asked my husband, his two brothers and his sister a question. What was your grandmother’s name? All four of them knew the answer to that. They all said “Grandma!”

I was the one that told them their paternal grandmother was Mary S. Smith and their maternal one was Clara Teresa South.

Does it matter? To me it is very important to know who my ancestors were. Only one of them was still alive when I was born… my mother’s mom, Lena White Hutchison, who married James Reid Andrews. She died Dec 21, 1931.

My Grandma Andrews (my Mom's mother)

I’ve traced back to 1620, to those who came on the Mayflower! Mom’s side to Francis Cooke, and on my Dad’s side to Steven Hopkins. Legend had it that Mom’s side came on the Mayflower, but it wasn’t documented until I did it.  My dad’s side had no idea of the Mayflower connection, until I discovered it.

So, if you are wondering what kind of a project you can have in this brand new year, consider genealogy, and go find yourself.

Remember, this is not a dress rehearsal!

*

8 thoughts on “Roots

  1. Impressive endeavor, Noni. How long did it take you? I know names of and personally met most of my relatives as far back as my great grandparents on both sides. I was fortunate to know both great grandmothers and to know a little about my great grandfathers. My maternal great grandmother influenced me profoundly as a little girl. I was a teenager at the time she passed. I know that my maternal great grandparents came here from Europe, one from England and the other from France. My paternal grandparents were from Germany and Ireland. I’m a mixture of French, German, English, and Irish. Blessings to you, Noni…

  2. I never knew what to do with family trees. A common feeling amongst adoptees….one we are reminded of with every visit to a new doctor’s office when they ask our family medical history.
    For me, I would have more desire to trace my genetic roots, but of course there are always too many closed doors.
    I always find a special bond with other adoptees and it’s always interesting to share stories and thoughts.

  3. Thanks for coming by Carol Ann. I appreciate your comment. How long did it take? The actual documenting took about a year. But I had worked on the family tree for a number of years… but that includes lots of the branches.It is much easier with a computer!

  4. Heather, thanks for coming by. Are you pouring?

    You have given me a completely new slant on genealogy. As an adoptee, that would be hard. Maybe you wouldn’t want to know, but if you did want to, there would be closed doors.

  5. Hello Norma,
    I have done some research in my family tree.On my mother’s side I had a cousin who actually did a thorough search and than wrote a book about our ancestors and where they came from.Which was along the German/French boarder.He traced our ancestry back to the 1600.
    On my father’s side I have learned who my Great and great great grandparents were.They were of English descent from England.Other than that I do not know much which is sad because my father is deceased and all his brothers & sisters are also deceased so there is not too many people to ask questions except maybe their children if they know anything.You really give someone something to thing about! Yes it is important to know something about who and where we come from.Blessing Norma to you and yours.Thanks for the tea ! No cookies over indulged during the holidays and have to cut back!

  6. Hi Dianne! Maybe I should pour the tea this time. I’m getting lazy, making my guests pour their own, as well as mine! Thank s for coming by. I do appreciate your visits!
    I wish that my grandparents had written about their lives. It would be good to know more about them. I’m glad that you know about your “tree.”

  7. Just catching up with my reading at the moment. Sorry to be so late to this tea party. My mother did extensive genealogy and was a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution. In fact one of our ancestors and his two sons were read out of Quaker meeting in Philadelphia for their participation in the patriot cause during the American Revolution. There are many ways to trace family trees besides word of mouth through families. If there is a historical society or a genealogy society in your city, you can seek them out and they will assist. There are also on-line sources like Ancestry.com or Rootsweb – I can’t remember all the names. Just google genealogy and you’ll find some help. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

