My Mom and Cook Books!

My mother was born September 25, 1881 in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada, She died 6 May, 1956 at the age of 76

I was the fourth child in the family, born 7 years after my sister. Mom was 43 when I came along.

She was such a great cook!

She belonged to the Willing Workers Circle at Ryerson United Church, in the Kerrisdale area of Vancouver. In order to raise money, they made a cook book, selling advertising in it to help with expenses, and then sold the book. I still have a copy, published in 1927.

Back in those days, the cook book just listed the ingredients needed for the recipe… no instructions on how to go about making anything.  The detailed instructions were not needed as most people had a basic training in cooking from their mother.

Mom was always an early riser. By the time I would get up for school, she would already have baked pies, cakes., or cookies. Or a Flapper Pie! She won a contest with one of those!  Or Boston Baked Beans with steamed brown bread!

When the stock market crashed and we moved to Beaver Vallley in the Cariboo, she had her hands full trying to make meals with limited supplies. There was no running to the store to get last minute items for dinner. She had to bake all the bread, and made every  thing from scratch.

It was a great training for me, even though I wasn’t old enough to do much in the kitchen… but I saw how she coped, and it gave me a good background for handling  hard times.

4 thoughts on “My Mom and Cook Books!

  1. I love cookbooks! I remember posting about vintage ones last year… and featuring a couple YOU had created for my mother! Cookbooks are a heritage we can treasure through multiple generations. All those wonderful foods that went along with various family mealtimes and special occasions. With so many women working nowadays I wonder if much of today’s ‘home cooking’ has been relegated to faster, easier to prepare recipes. My breadmaking, for instance, is via a bread machine; put the ingredients in at night and let it do the work to provide a fresh loaf for breakfast the next morning. I don’t even have working as an excuse. I think I’m just lazy. LOL!

  2. Welcome, Carol. Let’s have a cup of tea.

    As you can see, I finally got it to work! Thanks for coming by and for your comment.

  3. Hi Norma, well I’m a little bit late for tea. That’s a great story about your mother’s cooking, and great old photos! That’s amazing that you still have that cookbook! What a treasure! My grandfather was born in St. John N.B. in 1889. His last name was Cronin. His father had a bar there called T.J.Cronin’s Bar. I wonder if any of your mother’s family might have ever had a drink in it.
    Have you ever tried one of those bread machines? I keep thinking I’d like to get one some day. G’night for now Norma, All the best!

    • Not too late for tea, Greg! Only takes a minute to plug in the kettle. I wonder if any of them did stray and had that drink. They, and my mom and dad were t- totalers. Never drank. But who knows, some of them might have. My grandfather was from Ireland!

      I’ve never tried those bread machines, but Carol uses one and the results get brought over to me when they come for a visit. … delicious! It depends on what ingredients you put in. Maybe you could use one? You could ask Carol for advice!!

Leave a Reply

