Keanae

Through our painting display at Brentwood Mall during one of the Hawaiian promotions, we got to know Loretta Chin, Jesse Nakooka, and Kaui, Aloha and Moana, the entertainers that came from Hawaii. We spent quite a bit of time together, and started a wonderful friendship.

Two of the girls were going to graduate that year and wanted us to come to Hawaii to be at their graduation ceremonies. Loretta invited us to stay with her and her family.

We spent two weeks there, back in 1974… and had a wonderful time. Loretta worked at the Maui Lou, owned by Gordon Gibson, of West Vancouver, so we were on our own during the days. We rented a car, and traveled all around the Island of Maui.

One day-trip we took was to Hana, at the far end of the Island… the song “54 Bridges to Hana” was right, but some of those bridges spanned a very small distance.

On the way there, we saw Keanae… just off the main road. The beach was black lava, and you should have seen the crashing waves that came in. Have you ever tried to “catch” a wave as it hit its highest point? We never did get the full force of one in the camera, but we really enjoyed watching the display!

As we traveled on towards Hana, we saw many awesome waterfalls. It has some extremely beautiful scenery along the way to Hana at the far end of the island.

11 thoughts on “Keanae

  1. It’s quite an accomplishment travelling to Hana – in fact, I think there’s a T- Shirt to that effect. 🙂 Lovely to see your photos! 🙂

    • Good morning Heather!. Too bad it is raining for your day off. Oh well,”every now and then it’s gotta rain, we’re here for a ood time, not a long time” … guess where I found ;those words!
      The kettle’s boiling so I’ll pour our tea… wish it was in person! How’s the foot?

      • I love those words and the song which contained them. 🙂 By the way, I sent that email pro-Trooper!
        Yup, raining – but I have things to catch up on. It’s all good. Foot is a little more sore since a procedure on Friday. I can wear shoes now though. 🙂 Thank you for asking. Hugs!

  2. What great photos! I’ve heard the scenery in Hawaii is breathtaking, but have never seen it. I’m hoping for lots of pictures from our son and his wife who arrived there just yesterday. It’s their first time there so I’m sure the camera will get lots of use.

    • Hello Carol! Pull up a chair while I get the tea. The scenery in Hawaii was breathtaking and some of it so very different…. but B.C. has some pretty spectacular scenes, too. Like our mountains, and the ocean. I could not live there… they do not have “seasons” like we do, for one. Thanks for your visit and comment.

  3. What a great opportunity to visit Hawaii – love the photo of the crashing waves! BTW your post about your brother wouldn’t allow comments. What a sad way to lose someone, and he was so young.
    I’ve always wondered where the name Noni Grace came from…
    Have a great day!

  4. Hi Norma… Thanks for coming by. I don’t understand how you have seen the post about my brother. It isn’t scheduled to appear until the 20th! (Update: I’ve discovered there was a posting glitch, but you’ll be able to comment after the post reappears on the 20th.)

    Ok…My name was Norma Vogler. When I was little, I couldn’t say that and called myself “Nonie Vogue.” I was actually called Nonie until I was 12 or 13 when we moved back to Vancouver and I entered school. One of Dad’s sisters was Elsie Grace… So, my middle name is “Grace.” It just seemed right to call my blog “Noni Grace.”

Leave a Reply

