A Sad Day

Saturday morning is my cleaning day, when one of the care aides comes and does my cleaning. I usually put some music on for her to enjoy while she works. Two weeks ago I chose Sam Cooke, and when the care aide left Sam was singing Blue Moon.

Have you ever heard him sing that song? Couldn’t help but want to dance. No partner!

Oh well, I could  dream and pretend my walker was my partner… that way I got to lead. I danced until the end of the song, then turned the music off and got busy.

By noon on Saturday my back was kind of sore, around my waist….worse on Sunday, and by Monday I needed to see the doctor. X rays followed.

Back to the doctor for results on Thursday… No more dancing… I have three fractured vertebrae! Can you believe it. Boy… talk about sore!  So I am not accomplishing much since then!

12 thoughts on “A Sad Day

    • Good morning Jean. The sadest part is that I was just doing a very easy,step,, no clicking of heels. No more dancing. Doctor says I can tap my feet, but no more dancing. NOt sure if it was worth it. I just poured a cup of tea for you… so let’s enjoy it.

  1. Good morning!

    I read your note about Debbie, Rachel and Richard coming for a visit – that must have been a special day for you. Did you get to visit with them for very long?

    I know that song very well and even though I am not a very good dancer but I can certainly understand the feeling that you got from it.

    I hope you feel better soon Norma, have a great week and thanks for the tea.

    • Good morning, Phillip…oh oh. it’s afternoon there, isn’t it (9:30 here) I’ll pour the tea so we can enjoy it while we chat. My guests were here for about an hour and a half, and we never stopped talking! It was about the same length of time we got to spend with Hattie!.
      Now it’s your turn! We have 2 suites here for visitors at a very reduced rate. Thanks for your visit and comment, Phillip.

  2. It seems like the cliche, “adding insult to injury”, to have such a delightful activity end that way. Just last week someone referred me to a video where a 94-year-old took part in a dance competition — http://youtu.be/8LOdmka4_90 It was amazing! The woman is so much more agile than I am, and I’m more than 20 years her junior! I hope your back is healing quickly and you’ll soon be able to enjoy other pleasant but perhaps less ambitious activities.

    • Good afternoon Carol. Would you pour our tea, please. So good to have you visit and to “hear” your comments. Good for the senior dancing… it wont be me. I never did get to dance much as I was “the band”.a drummer and me on the accordion!

  3. Oh no! Sorry to hear that! I hope you are able to look back and at least enjoy the fun you were having at the time. 🙂 I love that you added a picture of the couple dancing – is that how you imagined yourself at the time? I sure hope the pain eases up. take care

  4. Blue moon, you saw me standing alone, without a dream in my heart, without a love of my own….

    Love that song. Sorry about the vertebrae. Praying for a rapid healing and a return to painless movement for you.

    • Hello Judith. Let’s have some tea. Isn’t that a great song… especially with Sam Cooke singing it. When I went to the doctor, the receptjonist put a note in the box for the doctor to know why I was there. She said “Norma was dancing”! Thanks for the prayers.

  5. Thanks for the update, Norma. I hope you heal well and fast. Your heart still dances and your mind can do cartwheels around most folks!
    Hugs!

  6. whqat sweet things to my ears, Heather, dear! You get two cups of tea, and cookies for that one! I am very slowly healing…two weeks down, only 10 more to go. Doctor said 6 to 12 weeks to heal! I have some good times, and some not so good, but I am mamaging.

Leave a Reply

