Ramblings In Beaver Valley

Lena and Al had the only electric lights for miles around… even in the barn!. Al had a delco system and had the creek diverted with a water wheel that he used to charge the batteries. It seemed to me that Al could do anything… and he could!

He had a complete irrigation system set up… just by moving a few rocks he’d change the course of the creek and water the garden or the meadow. The creek also ran through the pasture and the corral in front of the barn to water stock that happened to be in there. The ones out on the range would periodically head home and into the big corral for the salt block. This gave Al a chance to see that they were in good condition.

Their house was one main room, kitchen and sitting room together, a large pantry and a bedroom on the main floor. Very steep steps to the upstairs where it was divided into two bedrooms.. You had to go through the one at the top of the stairs to get to the other one. I slept up there, in a feather bed! That was really great, but you had to fluff it up every day when you made the bed.

There was a covered over porch with a washing machine out there.

They had this great root cellar. It was dug into the side of the hill and the roof was all sodded over. It kept really cool in the summer and kept the vegetables from freezing in the winter. There were big bins full of vegetables in the fall, but by the time winter was over and fresh produce was available from the garden, the supply in the root house had dwindled considerably.

They had a grainery for storing wheat, etc.. They also used it to store case lots of canned goods that Al brought in from Williams Lake…. Enough to last them through the winter. There was a garage of sorts added to the side of the grainery.

The last summer I spent with them was when I was fourteen.., and Allan, Lena’s second child, was just three months old.

I don’t remember why it was the last time… maybe Mom and dad needed me at home… maybe Lena just had too much to do after the kids started coming. Anyway, it was a very special part of my life, and I am ever grateful to Lena and Al for their kindness to me.

They had three children, Elsie, Allan and Leslie. I’m including photos of hem, taken many years ago.

6 thoughts on “Ramblings In Beaver Valley

  1. I love reading your recollections, I am particularly impressed you were able to save and catalogue all the wonderful photos that accompany the stories Noni. It makes reading them so much more enjoyable. D.Chesney

  2. Good morning Dave! I really appreciate reading your comment… Let’s have a cup of tea, while we chat. You know, a lot of people have shoe boxes full of pictures, of unknown people… all of mine are either in albums, or in my computer since I have the digital camera. All are labeled so that future generations will know who these people are that shared my life. I have 14 albums! And,they are all decorated on every page! Thanks for letting me know that you are enjoying my ramblings!

  3. I love reading about all the ingenuities developed by Al. He was a briliant man, so capable. Always refreshing to hear about your country days. Very precious.
    Cheers!
    Heather

    • HI Heather, Just time enough for tea before I have to go down for lunch! I’m glad you aren’t tired of the way I jump all around… but that’s how my memories come back! Thanks for coming by and for your comment.

  4. I remember the root house my parents had up at the Lake. It was dug into the side of a small hill, too, and worked very well for the few years they used it. Last time I saw it, though, it had caved in and had pretty well disappeared into the ground. What would we do without our memories? You have such a rich heritage of family times to share with us! I love seeing the photos, too.

    • Hello Carol… tea is poured. Even have a cookie or two… Thanks for coming by and for your comment. I really liked that root cellar, it was a good way to cool off when Lena sent me to get some vegetables from there. What would our lives be without memories?

Leave a Reply

