Surgery Day

At 1:00 AM yesterday the final countdown started. They took away my water.

Gary had stayed late Monday night and we had a good game of crib. No, it was a great game – I won!

(This deer antler crib board belonged to my Dad)

I had a fairly good night with the help of my TV or my CD player. I listened to piano playing, “Solitudes: Forest Piano“, accompanied by birds, and it was very relaxing.

My day progressed.

We have three nurses named Mellissa working here. I haven’t met them all, just the one who cared for me today. I do appreciate her dedication to her duty.

Two of my sons were here visiting and we mentioned that I have a blog. Mellissa was surprised and said, “Oh, what do you write about – your life – or something interesting?” We all had a good laugh as she stood there with her foot hanging out of her mouth.

Mellissa is the only one of the nurses to take me for a walk and we went twice yesterday. Much needed after being in bed day and night for five days. I’m attached to an IV pole so can’t go it alone.

*

Shortly after 5:30 p.m. yesterday Norma was taken into surgery, and by 7:15 p.m. the word came that she was back out of surgery, “…and all is good. Thanks for your prayers.”

She faces a significant time of recovery, of course, but with her faith and determination I’m optimistic that she’ll soon be back in circulation.

If you’d like to send her a message of encouragement, please leave it in the comment section below, or send an e-mail to normagmcguire@gmail.com . And thank you so much for your support and prayers. Norma and all the family appreciate it immensely!

*

7 thoughts on “Surgery Day

  1. I tell you what Auntie Norma … I`ll be your next crib opponent and give you a run for your money 🙂 I am so glad the surgery is behind you and now just concentrate on healing and feeling better. I`m glad you have been surrounded by the people you love the most . I must say they are all pretty darned special to me as well.I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as I do Danny. You are more loved than you will ever know .
    Kallie

  2. Glad your surgery is over now you can relax some and consentrate on getting back to being healthy again and win at the crib games. Wish I could be there but so far away.
    All our Love to you Aunty Norma , Hope you have a restfull day. Elsie
    Hope you get this.

  3. I had a good chuckle about the nurse’s “something interesting” comment — little does she know what amazing stories you’ve got to tell!

    Glad to hear the surgery went well. I kind of wish you were in the hospital here where I work, or that I worked where you are…then I could help take care of you and pamper you a little (or a lot!). But I’ll have to leave that to all the Mellissas. 😉

    I’ll continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers as you recover. Sending my love….

  4. Hi Norma – So happy to hear that the surgery well and the wait is behind you now. I know that you still have the recovery ahead of you, but it will keep getting better and better! I can just see the look on Melissa’s face – how do I get myself out of this?? Very funny!! I love the crib board – I can imagine that it makes the game just that much more special – especially when you win! Take care, Norma
    love, Norma

Leave a Reply

