Light Rye Bread

On my last post, I mentioned my recipe for Light Rye Bread, and said how delicious it was. In the comment section you will see that Heather asked if I would share the recipe.  Why not?

It has taken me a little while to get this ready. I had the recipe, but no pictures… so I borrowed one….but not the Rye bread. If you try it, let me know what you think!

Light Rye Bread

3/4 cup demarera sugar

1/4 cup Honey

1/4 cup shortening

3 Tablespoons dark molasses

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 Quart boiling water (or potato water)

2 packages yeast, dissolved in 1/4 cup lukewarm water

2 cups light rye flour

8 cups white flour (approx.)

Add sugar, honey shortening, molasses and salt to water. When lukewarm, add yeast softened in warm water.

Add rye flour and beat. Add white flour to knead. Knead well. Let rise. Shape into 4 loaves. Cut tops with a few gashes of the knife, brush with butter or glaze. Let rise until light.

Bake 400 degrees F 15 minutes. Reduce to 350 degrees and bake 30 minutes longer.

6 thoughts on “Light Rye Bread

  1. Mmmm, I’ll bet those loaves smelled wonderful while baking and tasted equally good! I have a rye bread recipe of my mom’s, too. It was one of the few breads I can remember her ever making. If I could figure out a way to adapt both recipes for my bread machine, I’d be all set. 😉

  2. Rye bread is one of my favorites. I’m adding the recipe to my collection. Will try it soon. Thanks for sharing.

    Carol, there is nothing like kneading bread by hand to relieve frustration. My kids always knew when I was upset or angry because I’d make bread. Lots of bread.

  3. Greetings to you both, Judith and Carol. Let’s have a cup of tea. I do appreciate your visits and comments, and am always happy to see you.

  4. Good morning, Norma! 🙂 A great photo to go with the recipe. I’ve passed this one on to some of my baking friends and saved it on file for my retirement days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

