Memories

Memories

It’s funny how small things can trigger memories from long ago.

Dunking my multigrain roll in my tea reminds me of my Grandma Andrews! She was the only one of my grandparents still alive when I was born, and she died when I was seven.

She lived with my Mom’s sister, but would come for visits with us, and would stay for a week  or more at a time. I remember she always dressed in a long, black dress. She was a tailoress, so probably made her own clothes.

In some of the photos of her she looks quite stern, but in reality, she was a softee! And I loved her.208__250x250_qa-teapot-footed

If she wanted a snack, she would brew some tea, then butter a piece of bread and put it on her plate. After pouring tea on the bread, she added sugar and then enjoyed eating it.

And my memories of her are triggered every time I dunk my roll in my tea!

10 thoughts on “Memories

  1. I loved this story. What an interesting treat. Yes, I think that would work well for a dessert item. Thanks for sharing that very neat memory!. I tempted to try it. 😀

    • Thanks for dropping by, Heather, and for your comment.. funny thing, you just triggered another memory. When I was 13, 14, somewhere in there… If I was hungry I would cook up a pot of macaroni… with butter and salt and pepper it was so good!

      • heheh We’re all triggering pathways to the past! 🙂 Carol’s story reminded me about all the occasions we shopped for groceries at Oakridge Woodwards Food Floor. Mom would get groceries while Dad and I watched the donut machine making donuts. He’d always buy half a dozen – two pink ones for me. Oh, and sometimes a chicken croquette! 🙂
        And your macaroni reminded me of my early teen comfort food – rice made with chicken boullion with bits of ham. We never had pasta in the house. heheh
        Have a wonderful day, Norma!

  2. Hi Auntie Norma,
    So many mornings I find myself in Nana and Dadads kitchen watching Dadad make his porridge on the little wood stove in his little Revereware copper bottom pot , all it takes is the smell of toast and I am there. Here I am an almost 60 year old woman still missing her Grandpa ❤
    Love you
    Kallie

    • Good morning Kallie! Thanks for your comment… I can see that same picture in my minds eye! I’ll put the kettle on and we can have a cup of tea.

  3. Such memories are treasures, aren’t they? In our family, whenever we bring out sticks of pepperoni sausage (which everyone likes to snack on), someone usually mentions remembering how my Dad would buy some while he and Mom were shopping on the Woodward’s grocery floor, and he’d rip a small hole in the corner of the brown paper wrap so he could pull out a stick to munch on before we’d even left the store. It’s funny what things stick in our minds.

    • Hi Carol. Thanks for the comment… and it triggered another one for me. My husband (your dad’s brother) would get a jar of rollamops and by the time we got to the pay out, he had finished eating them. One time a woman asked him what he was eating and he said “rattle snake”. She almost threw up as she dashed out of the store!

      • I had to go and look up ‘rollamops’ to find out they are a herring treat. I’m not sure I could eat them any better than rattle snake meat! I’d love to have seen the look on that woman’s face.

Leave a Reply

