First sale!

Years ago my husband and I belonged to a couple of art groups. I always was there to look after his paintings, but I had been encouraged by the manager of Guildford to set up my paintings as well.

So I had put a few of mine at Guilford, but there was no “action” on them.

One of the clubs we belonged to was having a display at English Bay, in Alexandra Park, and we went along. We set up my husbands paintings, and then, over to the side, I put mine, and then more or less ignored them.

While I was standing over by my husband’s paintings, a man came up to me and said “Are you looking after those paintings over there?” When I replied “Yes”, he said ” Oh, good…I want to buy one of them.”- First painting

I don’t think you would ever guess my response to this! The great salesman that I was I said “You’ve got to be kidding!”

He bought it anyway! And that was the very first painting of mine that I ever sold!

6 thoughts on “First sale!

  1. You have no idea how much I looked forward to you and Uncle Buddy being at Guildford. It was always wonderful to see you and spend a little time with you.It was also a treat for me seeing you at Stanley Park and listening to a young man and his girlfriend talk about a painting his mother had in her living room …… in England 🙂 So thank you again for sharing your memories Auntie Norma because they bring up very happy memories for me too !
    Love you
    Kallie

    • Dear Kallie, I’m pleased to see you here, and to know that my memories make you happy. It’s time for tea… the kettle is boiling!

  2. Great story! 🙂 I felt the same way when people started buying my photo cards. 😀 I think few people ever see the true beauty in their own work or, indeed, within themselves.

    • Mornin’ Heather! Great to see you here… and to know that I wasn’t the only one that felt “that way”… but I bet you never said “your kidding” when they wanted to buy your adds! Tea? Let’s sit a while!

      • heheh I was approached to make the cards by a couple of stores but when people started actually *buying” them, I might not have been there to say, “you’re kidding!” but I sure thought it after the fact. 😀
        Have a lovely day, Norma. Hugs!

  3. You’ve done (and sold) so many beautiful paintings, sketches, and photographs, etc., that I’m sure you know now they weren’t kidding at all. It’s a privilege to own something special that you’ve created!

Leave a Reply

