Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia

My father, Russell Vogler, was born in Voglers Cove, Nova Scotia. Our ancestors came from Prussia in 1751 and The Cove was named after my people. I had always wanted to go back and see where he was born, but one thing after another, it never happened.

It will take me a while to explain some background for the actual post I am writing!

We had a little dog, Ruff, … a curly haired Dachshund.  I always felt we couldn’t leave him. In 1994 He died. I no longer had that excuse.

Are you still with me?

In 1995 Ra and Debbie and Connor were going on a month long holiday to tour Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. And they asked us to go with them. He said we no longer had the dog,  and he would pay our air fare. He had a lot of air miles because of all the traveling he does with the band, Trooper.

Would you believe that I said “No” at first? … but then decided it was the best and only offer I had. So we said “YES”.  We shared renting a van, and then paid our own way.1995:07: 07 Peggys cove light house

One of the highlights of that trip was in the first few days after our arrival in Halifax. We attended the Royal International Nova Scotia Tatoo! With a cast of 2000!  What a spectacular show that was!

Tonight, I came home and turned on the TV to see if there was anything I wanted to watch. I had missed the first half of the program, but saw an hour and a half of the 2012 Royal International Nova Scotia Tatoo! Wow! The show was spectacular, as always… but the memories it brought back were even better. It was like I was right there again.  I am grateful for seeing that show on KCTS Seattle, a public broadcasting station.

By the way, We had lunch in the house where my father was born, and I even saw the bed he was born in! My cousin owns the house that was built in1880! My dad was born in 1881.1995:07::08 Voglers Cove. The house my father was born in!

13 thoughts on “Nova Scotia

  1. So very cool!
    And further argument that, more often than not, wonderful things happen when you say “yes” instead of “no”. 🙂

    I LOVE that you’re blogging again.

    • Hi Heather! Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Always appreciated. Would you have time for a cup of tea? I’ll put the kettle on.

  2. It is always fun to find out where your family came from. Lynda, Judy and I did our family history and went back to Ontario and saw the house where my grandfather was born. The people were so nice and had us in and showed it to us. I still keep in contact with the lady that lives in the house.

    • HI Bev. Welcome to my blog… always good to see you visiting. Yes, It really is fun to trace your family and to know where you really came from. Have you traced your Mom’s family? Tea’s ready.

  3. What a beautiful memory! Why do we so often say “no” at first when we really want to do whatever has been proposed? Do we have some sort of gremlin that prods us to eschew pleasure and enjoyment? I’m so glad you went and so glad the TV station revived those memories for you.

    • Mornin’ Judith. I’m really glad we finally said ‘yes. We actually met three of my cousins that I had been corresponding with, but hadn’t met before. Tea is ready, so pull up a chair while I pour!

    • You are welcome, Dave! Yes, we were in Lunenburg… stayed over night there in the Coach House at the Lunenburg Inn. Went to a huge craft sale and saw Christmas ornaments for sale in July! And it was in Lunenburg that we sailed on the Bluenose ll. That was a thrill. My Dad was so proud of the Bluenose…When we went on board I said “here we are, Dad, on the Bluenose!” It was a beautiful sunny day when we boarded… so we put our sweaters back in the car.. bad choice. It fogged in at one point and it was COLD! Even though it was 18 years ago, my memories are still vivid! Tea? pull up a chair.

  4. Hi, Norma – I love this story. I would love to see that part of the country myself one day. What a wonderful trip!

  5. Good grief – I missed the picture because I’m having to use my webmail. Wow!!! What a most beautiful “character” home. I love it!

    • Dear Heather, Thanks for dropping by, twice! The tea is ready this time. You really should go back to Nova Scotia.. and PEI, and Newfoundland! So beautiful. They seem to treasure their heritage more than west coast people. Flags flying from many homes. Homes well kept.

  6. What a treat that must have been to discover PBS’s broadcast of the Tattoo! I’m glad you had the opportunity to re-live some of the wonderful memories of your trip. We’ve been to NS just once, back in 1980… I really only remember a few of the places although Peggy’s Cove was memorable. The Maritimes in general are truly beautiful.

    • HI Carol. It was wonderful. Although its was not the same as the one we saw, basically, it was the same. Thanks for coming by and for your comment. Tea’s ready!

Leave a Reply

