Diplopia

Diplopia

I have Diplopia. I had never come across this word until the doctor told me what I had! Without looking it up, would you have known what it was?  Not me!

It started way back in January. I had a visitor and as we sat talking his face started to change… four eyes, two noses and two mouths… then it turned into two heads!

It didn’t happen again until the next time he visited and sat in the same chair. I didn’t know what was happening. I went to the doctor, and he said it was “diplopia”… seeing double.photo

I had to see my ophthamologist. That means quite a long wait. At first she thought it might be Temporal Arteritis, but that was ruled out… then she tried prisms in the right lens of my glasses. I wore that for a month, but it didn’t help…and the double vision was getting worse. After three visits, she referred me on to “the muscle man” as she called him.

Again, there was another wait to see him.  He prescribed a change in my glasses…. Then back to him again. The double vision had been getting worse. He tested my eyes and said I was seeing better! Then he said there was nothing he could do for me… come back in 6 months! (I don’t think so!)

I am very grateful that the double vision is not all the time. I have learned to make use of the “good” times and rest when I need to.

Now maybe you will understand why I haven’t been very consistent with my posts.

10 thoughts on “Diplopia

  1. Hi Auntie Norma,
    I`m so sorry to hear the double vision was not resolved. I hope the good moments outlast the bad ones On a happier note it was lovely to see Gary on Saturday at Hollys wedding. A more beautiful bride I have never seen 🙂 one day I will bore you with all the details . Keep up that great spirit of yours and I look forward to your next entry .
    Love you
    Kallie

  2. Aunty Norma,
    Thanks for posting about your condition, I have never heard of that before. I am so sorry that you are going through this, I am also glad it is not all the time. Take care.

    Love Daria

  3. Hi Norma,
    I wish the news had been better. You will certainly appreciate and make use of the times when your eyes are good. I’ve also never heard of Diplopia before.

    I always enjoy your posts, and never expect you to write on a regular basis.

    love, Norma

  4. Hi, Norma….
    It’s a difficult thing for you to live with and I’m so pleased you can take advantage of the good days. One has to wonder if the problem is not with the eyes at all, but something more to do with the body chemistry (ie meds, blood sugars) or something beyond the visual pathway. Finding the problem doesn’t mean resolving anything other than satisfying the curiosity. I just pray you have a lot of good vision days. 🙂

    H

  5. Are they doctors or just Latin Label Makers ? Well, sometimes both when we are lucky. After I had a new lens put in my right eye, I had a touch of diplopia…looking across the Columbia River I saw three buildings where there were only two, and four sailboats where there were only two. It had to do with the brain learning to use data from the new -ens right eye with data from the old-lens left eye.
    Closing one or the other made the doubling go away. Maybe it is time to talk to a neurologist instead of an eye doctor…

  6. I. do appreciate each and every one of you that has taken the time to drop by for a vjisit and to comment.I will not have the chance to answer each of you individually as my eyes are starting to play games with me.

    Diplopia is taking over for a while

Leave a Reply

