Stages

Stages

I left the hospital a couple of months ago after an eight day stay with a bout of pneumonia, feeling quite weak. First day home I walked down for lunch, but was struggling to walk home. That’s when staff went and got a wheelchair and brought me home.

Me after pneumonia

That led to a couple of weeks of staff taking me back and forth to meals. Then I had to learn how to propel myself in the wheelchair with my feet and legs… hard work. I decided that I didn’t want to keep doing that, so started to look for a mechanized chair.

One of the staff knew a lady here in this building that had one for sale, at a very good price… after her family bought it for her she didn’t like it….She had been trying to sell it for a few months. My lucky day!

I am now learning how to use it…a bit tricky, but I’m getting better by the day.

When I left the hospital they put me on oxygen 24/7, so when I leave my suite I’m on portable oxygen. I have a machine that extracts oxygen from where ever, plus I can fill my own cylinders… well, the staff look after that part of the process.

I still have a way to go…I lack the enthusiasm to write or paint or draw….hopefully that will come back. In the mean time, I can just take it one day at a time.

5 thoughts on “Stages

  1. Glad to learn you are meeting your new challenges with the grace we all associate with you. Nothing here to report this month except a computer glitch. Barring some usual activity.

  2. It’s good to see you back here sharing your news. Congratulations on taking the first step towards meeting your March Madness blogging goal, too. 😉

    What great mobility you’ll have now with a mechanized wheelchair! I’ll bet it feels good to regain some of your independence, too. I’ll be praying for a steady return of your strength and energy so you can soon be back doing the things you love.

    Sending lots of love!

  3. I have missed you . I was so pleased to see you back and writing. Let me know if you need a horn for your new chair to warn all the the slow pokes out of your way 🙂
    I love you dearly
    Kallie

Leave a Reply

