Changes.

Changes!

When my family moved into the house that my dad had built for us on Angus in Vancouver, I was three years old…so 1926. Every home didn’t have a fridge! None of them did! We had an ice box… and the ice man came around and delivered blocks of ice.

All the kids would come running as he would give us chips that had fallen when he cut the block to the size he wanted. We also had a little “cooler”  cupboard with holes to the outside, screened off with wire mesh.

Unknown

I had an egg cup with chickens on it. Around Easter time they (my parents, brothers and sister) would tell me to put the egg cup in there. Empty. Later they would call me to check on it and of course I would find an egg! I don’t know how they convinced me that the Easter Bunny laid chicken eggs, but they did! Of course I was quite young then…about six or seven! (I was seven years younger than my sister, and the two boys were both older than her.

The Chinese vegetable man came around with a horse and wagon, selling vegetables to you right at home! Those were ‘fresh’! The milk man and the bread man each came to your door…a great way to shop! They used a horse and wagon, too!

When my boys were  small, we had an Easter egg hunt when they got up on Easter. They had to put what ever eggs they found in a bowl that I provided. While they kept on looking for more, my husband was sneaking around, hiding the same eggs again. Made the hunt last a little longer. Those were jelly beans and the like.

The ones that the Easter Bunny left for them were of a chocolate coated fondant. Some vanilla flavour, some peppermint. I know, because I made them. The boys knew that I made the vanilla ones and left them for the bunny to hide. They didn’t know who made the peppermint ones, they came directly from that Bunny!

Traditions! Traditions!

2 thoughts on “Changes.

  1. Such things make for precious childhood memories. I remember the ice box we had on 5th Avenue, and the iceman (in a truck, though) who gave us children those bits of ice to suck. We thought it was such a treat.

    Our children and grandchildren enjoyed colouring eggs in the days prior to Easter, and then we’d hide them for an Easter Egg Hunt. Later years we started hiding the little foil-wrapped chocolate eggs. And I recall one year we used the foil-wrapped ones for an Easter Egg Scramble outside. They were tossed out onto the lawn for the children to find and collect, with a prize for whoever found the most. The only problem was they were small enough to get lost in the grass and we found some still out there weeks later!

    Good memories! Thanks for sharing yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

