Wandering

Wandering.   My blog gets you to a lot of situations and places because I wander…but that’s how my mind goes, so I have to follow! So here we go awandering!   We moved to Langley when there was still ten days left of Grade ten, and I had to go. Didn’t do much, but did meet some of the other kids.   When School started its next session I was voted class President.

We had a rather odd principal… his name was Manzer. Doing genealogy in later years I’m sure there was a relation between him and me. The daughter of William White, (Susan) the Loyalist, married Bernard Manzer’s( Loyalist) son, Henry. I never followed it through, but the possibility is there. We would have had the same great great grandparents!

Mr. Manzer decided he would call all of the girls by their  last name as he had enough to remember learning them. Except for me, class president, he called ‘Norma!” He taught Math, and would have things on the board to get the class started if he was a bit late getting there, and I would have students up at the board working on them when he came. He was a good teacher.

We had another great teacher…Donny Rodgers. He drilled the lessons into us during classes so that we hardly had to do any studying.

roses.And then there was Mr. Leonard, the music teacher. He decided that we would put on an operetta, and bought one…”The Wishing Well.” In later years he wrote the operetta! They were going to have auditions to see who would play the parts. Three of us gals had nothing to do, so decided to try out just for fun! Two of us got roles. I was picked for the leading lady, Mary. We had to sing “Brahms Lullaby”.   Mary,  my own, McCushla, My Irish colleen fair, Cheeks with the tint of roses, Mary, with auburn hair… that’s all I can remember!   We even made our own costumes!   The day came when we were to perform the operetta — in the theatre in front of the whole school, and another performance in the evening for parents and friends.   And… we were presented with roses at the end!!! How’s that for exciting!!!

2 thoughts on “Wandering

  1. You have a fabulous memory, Norma. I’m not sure I’d remember more than a few names of my teachers. 🙂
    From “new kid” to class president – that speaks for itself!
    Hugs!
    Heather

  2. You have some great memories! It’s funny how certain people stick in our minds for different reasons. When it comes to teachers, I remember a Gr. 11 music teacher who impressed me, but negatively, because he used to throw chalk at anyone who dared to talk in class. (He was a good shot, too!) And one time when a girl wasn’t paying attention he walked up from behind and grabbed a handful of her hair and yanked… except that he caught her earring, too. She had pierced ears and he ripped the earring right out. I think he ended up being ‘dismissed’ before that term was over.

Leave a Reply

