Spring

Still spring

 

It’s June of 2014..the sun is shining and the flowers are blooming..local strawberries are nearly ready to give us that fresh- from- the- garden taste.We are so blessed  here in White Rock, British Columbia, Canada!

 

As my son says to me quite often, “You’re a very lucky girl!” Yes I am. Well, not really a “girl” any more, but at what age do I stop being “a girl?”

dafffs

You know, when I reached my fiftieth birthday all that kept going through my head was “I’m half way there!”. So ever since that day I’ve said “I’m going to make it to a hundred!”

 

Whether or not that happens, I have been very blessed throughout my lifetime…starting with my parents… a car accident that ‘they’ thought I would not recover from, and some surgeries that once again ‘they’ didn’t  think I would make it.  And for my husband and three wonderful sons. Yet here I am…thankful to God for all the blessings that he continues to send my way.

 

Only nine more years to go!

7 thoughts on “Spring

  1. Hi, Norma. Today is my 75th birthday. Yes, I was born on D-Day – five years before it happened. And as of yesterday, friend-husband and I have been married 50 years. But I’m still a girl at heart. My ambitions feel more like I was 25 than 75. I’m betting you’ll get to 100.

    I have a dear friend, who is just a month younger than I. A few years ago, she said “since we’re past 70, now, I think we’ll both live to be 100. Let’s have a joint celebration.” So we’re looking forward to planning a “Centenarian Celebration” on my mother’s birthday, June 26, 2039. You’re invited. We’d love to have you come. 🙂

    • Just let me know where and when…I’ll be there.. from here, or over there.
      Happy birthday, Judith… and happy anniversary. We had one week short of 57 years when my husband died ten years ago. Thanks for stopping by and for your comments.

    • A belated Happy Birthday to you, Judith, and a Happy Anniversary, too! We’re really only as old as we choose to be, right? Your Centenarian Celebration sounds like a great plan… a wonderful event to look forward to.

  2. We’re counting on being in on that celebration, too! (But I think 106 is an even better-sounding number than 100.) Having just returned from our “55th anniversary” cruise (albeit a few months early), I’m confident we all have every hope of living much longer lives than people did a few generations ago. I’m glad you’re enjoying all the spring flowers. Your daffodils look very cheery. 🙂

  3. I think you’ve been blessed too, Norma – in so many ways. And I feel blessed just knowing you. 🙂 I’m hoping to visit with you this summer – I’m finally going to have some time on my hands. Our office is officially closing at the end of August.

Leave a Reply

