Time Passing.

Time Passing.

My son and I were talking about old times this afternoon….brought back lots of memories. Maybe I’ve already written about these things before… I don’t know.

Back in the old times…I was sixteen. I had been wearing hand-me-down clothes for a few years because there just was no money around.

I picked strawberries… for one cent a pound, and they had to be hulled as we picked because they were for jam. The  most I ever picked in a day was 146 pounds, and got $1.46  for the whole days work.

I drew Christmas cards for ten cents each, or a dollar a dozen.

And I learned how to play a 24 base accordion that my brother gave me. Turns out he bought it on time, and didn’t pay for it. They came to take it away, but my Dad payed the amount owing and I got to keep it. Later on I had a 120 base accordion.

The community at Otter had a Whist and Dance every Saturday night. They played Whist for two hours, then danced for two hours.  The accordion player was leaving and that left just the drummer.

They asked me to take his place…so every Saturday night I played for two hours, and made $2.00

I eventually had enough money to buy a beautiful plum coloured coat. I was so proud of that coat!

3 thoughts on “Time Passing.

  1. Beautiful memories. Our young people today have no concept of what life was like then. You developed many skills simply out of necessity.

    All these experiences made you the wonderful lady you are today. I’m so glad to get to know you. May you have a peaceful and blessed Christmas season and a grace-filled New Year. Blessings to you and your family, my friend.

  2. Hi, Norma,
    Very much enjoyed reading your blog today. Interesting memories and thank you for walking us down your Memory Lane.
    Hugs!
    Heather

Leave a Reply

